European Blockchain Partnership Share 2019/2020 Presidency among Three Member States

The European Blockchain Partnership, a collaborative effort between more than a few countries that seeks to promote the use of blockchain technology among its member states in different areas, will share its leadership position among three countries.

The tenure which will last from July 2019 to July 2020 will have a joint presidency of Sweden, Czech Republic and Italy. This was agreed after a meeting of the Partnership in Brussels on Tuesday the 9th of July.

According to Marco Bellezza, the Legal Advisor to Italy’s Minister Di Maio for communications and digital innovation and Coordinator of the Italian delegation of the EU blockchain partnership:

“The Italian Presidency of the EU Blockchain Partnership is a first acknowledgment of the activity carried out on this front on the impulse of the Minister Luigi Di Maio, with a view to giving Italy a leadership role in the European projects on Blockchain. This is a unique opportunity to further promote the knowledge and use of this technology for the benefit of citizens and businesses by strengthening cooperation within the EU.”

The European Blockchain Partnership

The European Blockchain Partnership officially commenced when on 10th April 2018, more than 20 different countries came together to sign a Declaration for the creation of the partnership which requires all the members to collaborate in the formation of a European Blockchain Services Infrastructure (EBSI).

The EBSI is an infrastructure that will facilitate the creation of delivery systems for digital collaborations and public services among these countries while ensuring that all applicable principles for privacy and security are met.

The Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, Mariya Gabriel, has said that the use of blockchain technology will benefit all countries all the way from the leadership right up to their respective citizenry. Mariya said:

“In the future, all public services will use blockchain technology. Blockchain is a great opportunity for Europe and Member States to rethink the information systems, to promote user trust and the protection of personal data, to help create new business opportunities and to establish new areas of leadership, benefiting citizens, public services and companies.”

The member countries that are a part of the partnership include Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK.

The EU Blockchain Observatory and Forum was also launched by the European Commission in February 2018. Seeking to support the application of blockchain technology in the general Society, the European Commission has invested more than 80 million euros. It is expected that by 2020, another 300 million euros will be invested in blockchain technology.

After the declaration was signed, six more countries joined and Italy’s own signing took place on the 27th of September 2018.

The European Commission has expressed its desire for all the other countries in the European Union and European Economic Area to become a part of the partnership.

Get Daily Headlines

Enter Best Email to Get Trending Crypto News & Bitcoin Market Updates

What to Know More?

Join Our Telegram Group to Receive Live Updates on The Latest Blockchain & Crypto News From Your Favorite Projects

Join Our Telegram

Stay Up to Date!

Join us on Twitter to Get The Latest Trading Signals, Blockchain News, and Daily Communication with Crypto Users!

Join Our Twitter

Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.
Bitcoin Exchange Guide