Georgian Government To Exempt Bitcoin From Value-Added Tax (VAT), No Income Tax For Traders

With more and more smaller European nations turning towards cryptocurrencies, it will be interesting to see how other countries situated across the Middle East and Africa will respond to this burgeoning asset class.

  • Georgia is not the first country to introduce such tax exemptions for its crypto holders.
  • In the past, other nations such as Slovenia, Estonia and Switzerland too have allowed their citizens to freely trade crypto assets without having to pay any taxes on their gains.

Since the inception of the crypto industry nearly a decade back, various regulators across the globe have been faced with the task of taxing digital currencies in a way that is not only fair but also quite streamlined. However, over the past few years, there have been a number of countries that have completely exempt their crypto industries from VAT and other associated charges.

In this regard, the government of Georgia recently released a circular that explicitly states that ‘traders of digital coins — both companies and individuals’ will no longer have to pay the Tbilisi regime any VAT. The legislation was recently approved by Nodar Khaduri — the nation’s finance minister — and has been in effect since the latter half of June.

A Closer Look at the Matter

Following the passing of this recent law, Georgian crypto holders dealing with local and foreign fiat assets are no longer obliged to pay value-added tax to the govt. If that wasn’t enough, even citizens with smaller crypto holdings looking to facilitate their altcoin tx’s online are exempt from any IT on their digital assets.

As per the bill, the Georgian ‘lari’ will be the only currency that can be used as legal tender for buying/selling cryptocurrencies within the country.

Additionally, Georgian mining operators will be required to pay VAT — unless their operations are being carried out abroad.

The small European nation currently offers its people with abundant/cheap hydro power. Owing to these affordable electricity rates, a lot of Bitcoiners have started to move towards the area in hopes of setting up their startups.

Europe And Crypto

EU based tax authorities have continued to try and regulate their crypto markets but with little success. For example, the UK still treats crypto coins as being foreign currencies while Germany views the purchase of digital assets as being investments (they still subject altcoins to capital gains tax).

However, countries like Estonia and Switzerland are very open to the idea of crypto and have devised frameworks that are very accommodating of this novel asset class. In this regard, it is worth pointing out that Estonia and Slovenia do not currently tax the gains of individual cryptocurrency traders.

At this point in the article, we should mention that Value-added tax (VAT) is an ‘indirect tax scheme’ that has become an extremely important source of income for many governments across the globe. To put things into perspective, more than 160 countries currently make use of this model — with countries like France acquiring more than “half of their budget receipts” via VAT.

Get Free Email Updates!

*Action* Enter Best Email to Get Trending Crypto News & Bitcoin Market Updates

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Shiraz J
Shiraz is a multi-year cryptocurrency analyst and blockchain journalist residing in Melbourne, Australia. When he is not writing about the bitcoin ecosystem, he enjoys the art of meditation, playing the blues and traveling the world.

[Alert] Use the author's self-conducted information at your own risk, do you own research, never invest more than you are willing to lose.

[Disclosure] The published news and content on BitcoinExchangeGuide should never be used or taken as financial investment advice. Understand trading cryptocurrencies is a very high-risk activity which can result in significant losses. Editorial Policy \\ Investment Disclaimer


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Live Bitcoin Price & Latest BTC Charts

Today's Latest Crypto News

Compound Protocol to Roll Out Decentralized Oracles Dubbed ‘Open Price Feed'

Compound, one of the most popular defi protocol, is all set to introduce open price feeds for lending on its platform using a decentralized...

$2 Million Slippage & Surge in Ether Price on Uniswap Helps Net $40k in Profit

A Uniswap user was able to profit $40,000 thanks to $2 million of slippage and the price of Ether surging north of 15%. It all...

Irish Govt to Target Cryptocurrencies Use in Money Laundering And Terror Financing

The Irish government aims to implement stricter and more stringent laws to curb money laundering and terrorism financing in its financial system, including digital...

Interactive Brokers to Settle $38 Million in Penalties for Violating AML Procedures

Interactive Brokers LLC, a U.S based brokerage that skyrocketed between 2013 and 2018, has agreed to settle a total of $38 million with the...

Ethereum Gas Price Hasn’t Been This High Since its Launch

The price of Ether is back to making its way to $400 level as it hovers around $391 in the green with just $840...

BitcoinExchangeGuide is a hyper-active daily crypto news portal with care in cultivating the cryptocurrency culture with community contributors who help rewrite the bold future of blockchain finance. Subscribe on Google News, see the mission, authors, editorial links policy, investment disclaimer, privacy policy. Got News? Contact us, we are human too. Note: nothing here is financial advice, do your own research thoroughly.

Start Using Crypto Today